top of page

PARIS, FRANCE

If you're going to read just one post here, read this one. I know that I'm sharing nothing unique when I tell you that I love SoulCycle. The motivational statements, overpriced apparel, and unique scent of grapefruit candles give it a cult-like vibe, but who doesn't want to feel like a part of something exclusive? Dynamo in Paris replicates this environment remarkably, and because the instructors speak only in French, the studio feels even more elite. The website, also, is published only in French. After clicking through a few menus I managed to buy a class and sign up for a 45 minute class. My friend told me that Parisians never walk around the city in workout clothes, so we threw cute sweaters and boots on over our leggings to blend in.

For individuals without much studio-cycling experience, I would suggest you go with a French speaker, but for more experience people, you shouldn't have much trouble figuring out how the class goes. The exuberant instructor led us through a series of climbs and sprints to the beat of a combination of American rap music and French songs, which many of the riders mouthed the words to. I definitely found myself working hard to stay on tempo with fit crowd around me. During one song, the instructor directed us to pedal backwards. I had never done this in a spinning class before, but I was game to try it out. The crowd seemed into it, but it put a lot of strain on my knees, so I opted out and rode through the song forward. Since then, I've experienced this backwards style in a couple of spinning classes. I'm not a fan, but I'll leave that up for you to decide.

We finished of the ride with an arms section, what seemed to be some major motivational speaking from the instructor, and a ride in a pristine locker room. Be warned, every rider seemed to wait in line to take a shower. I guess Parisians don't walk around sweaty, either.


bottom of page